Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Sword Style schools in Minnesota?

Kenji Himura Guest

Default New to the Japanese Sword Arts...

Hello,
    I'm new to all of this, but I've always been at least moderatley interested in learning the sword -- so -- the most logical question to ask is: Where do I start?

I've done a little bit of research, minimal at best to be honest, and have found Kenjutsu, Batto-Jutsu, and Iai-do to be of interest, though I am not horribly sure what the differences are between them all.

How does one decide which is right for him?

Once I decide which would be best, how do I go about finding a dojo?

I unfortunatley live in a place right now that isn't exactly what one would call the cultural exchange of the world, but will soon be moving to Minnesota, so hopefully that would bring about more opportunities

Any information that could point me in the right direction would be most appreciated.

Thanks

S. South

Likes (received)

Hi, and welcome to the forums. Just so you know, someone will probably suggest that you give us your first name or something, so we can properly address you. It's a forum rule that you have to sign posts with your "real name." It helps us out, and makes it easier to avoid problems.

If you are new to the sword arts, please review the many threads here (click on the links). Also, if something from a moderator says READ, do us a favor and read it. It'll help, I promise .