Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Nakayama Hakudo and Jodo

Likes (received)

Default Nakayama Hakudo and Jodo

What was Nakayama Hakudo's contributions/improvements to Jodo? As I recall, he supposedly tried to reform/modify/improve on Jodo in one way or another, but I can't recall reading any kind of details other than that the attempt(s) was not successful for (to me) unknown reasons.

Any reply apreciated.
    Fredrik Hall
    "To study and not think is a waste. To think and not study is dangerous." /Confucius

Likes (received)

As I understand it, and I'm not an expert in the field by any means, Nakayama Hakudo studied with Uchida Ryogoro who went to Tokyo before Shimizu Takaji did by many years. (Earlier generation, you'll find an annoted lineage here http://ejmas.com/jnc/jncart_taylor_0900.htm)

The last years of Nakayama's teaching life were spent in the dojo of Danzaki Tomoaki, and the folks in that dojo, according to one of my sensei who studied iai there for several years, also practiced jodo. He wouldn't know if it was "mainline" or "modified" but I suspect it was likely what was taught there by Nakayama.

According to Matsui Kenji (you can get a ref. to that book at the link above) the jodo practiced by Nakayama's group was slightly different than that practiced now.