Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Child with Aspergers wants to learn Judo

Likes (received)

Default Child with Aspergers wants to learn Judo

I have a friend whose 9-year-old child wants to learn a martial art. I think he has picked out Judo because he's heard of it. The child has Aspergers' Syndrome, which means he has difficulty with some social situations, and finds disorder and loud noises confusing. I think it also affects his co-ordination slightly, though this is exactly why he, and his mother want him to join in some kind of physical activity like Judo.

I suggested maybe something like Kyudo might be easier for him, as this would play to his strengths. Any other suggestions? Anybody know of any dojos/instructors who have any experience of teaching children with learning/ behavioural difficulties?

David Lundie

"Your greatest enemy is your own self"
    - St Josemaria

Likes (received)

I'm no expert but I've read around the subject a bit.

Judo will probably be a little too random for him, and kyudo, well how many kyudo places are there in London??? (I know of 1.)

Children with these sorts of problems I think are better off in a much more ordered environment, and some get quite a kick out of the neatness of lines in karate etc. So i'd be aiming at a form based system, which will grab his attention and give him a focus, rolling around with big boys will probably freak him out, and he won't be in a good place to tell you.

Just my pennies there, and worth less than that too ;-)
    Jim Boone

Flick Lives!

Likes (received)