Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Kata structure

Likes (received)

Default Kata structure

I would like to hear from people (from the perspective of their style) about techniques and kata structure. Long kata (with many "techniques) vs. short kata (with only one idea being taught)? What is the reasoning for the use of either or both?
    -Matt Henseler

Likes (received)

I'm sure other people can give much better rants than I could, but looking at your profile it says you study a variant of Shinkage-ryu. Which variant is this and with whom do you study?

Thanks!
    - Alex Dale

Likes (received)

Hi!
    I train TSKSR for two years now, so i would say i am a bloody beginner! TSKSR is famous for there looooong kata. When i started leaning the first Kata of the omote kenjutsu it feels endless. I heard (and read) that the long kata did not only train the stamina but they are also closer to a real combat-situation than the short kata in most other ryuha(see Ellis Amdurs "Old school").
    Best
    Sven Beulke
    sven@bugei.org
    Bremen, Germany

Likes (received)

Just a personal opinion from a novice.

Long kata are made up of many short parts--sometimes as short as a single technique.

So "long" and "short" would seem to be matters of overall perspective.

I mean is practicing several "short" kata back to back make one "long" kata--or many short ones??????

Does only doing "part" of "long" kata make it a "short" one???

If I pull a technique out of the last 3 moves of a really "long" kata and use it to cut a mans arm off---was that a "short" kata or a "long" one????

Heck for that matter---the purpose of the kata is to develop skill and train a wide range of techniques, footwork, postioning etc.
    The goal is to be able to use it effectivly in a fight.
    Therefore the question is NOT the length of a kata---but rather how good the student is with the material taught.

Just my own deeply devauled 2 cents.
    Chris Thomas