Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Beginner Question: Kageyama Dojo in Toronto

Likes (received)

Default Beginner Question: Kageyama Dojo in Toronto

Hi, this is my first time taking martial arts after a break of 8 years. I used to practise Kiyukishin Karate when i was 10 years old. I know the teacher is a very important aspect in learning Martial arts.

Just wondering if anyone of you has heard of Greg Tremblay who is a 7th dan in Ninjitsu(bujinkan) www.kageyamadojo.com . Is he a good teacher? Also would you recommend Ninjitsu as a good introduction into the martial arts (emphasis on overall learning and growth) as opposed to Yoshinkai Aikido (my other option). I appreciate your feedback. Thanks
    Danial Jameel
    Bujinkan, Kageyama Dojo

Likes (received)

1. Bujinkan is as legit as it can get, so that's okay.

2. We cannot decide if Bujinkan is the right thing for you. Try it and make your own opinion.
    Achim Steigert
    Bujinkan Te-Nage Dōjō
    Bujinkan Budō Taijutsu
    Shodan - translated: beginners grade

Likes (received)

I'm just concerned about the fact that so many bujinkan and genbukan dojos (not sure on the spelling) are starting out these days and finding a good teacher can be difficult. It's going to cost me 200$ per month so i thought i get the point of view and advice from ninjitsu students and teachers here. I definately want to start out with ninjitsu and then move on to Jiujitsu/judo to improve my ground skills. Thanks
    Danial Jameel
    Bujinkan, Kageyama Dojo

Likes (received)

why bother starting something if you want to leave, if you want to improve "ground skills" you don't plan on actually learning all the bujinkan has to offer. from what it sounds like you want a MMA school but like the idea of saying ninjutsu
    Dean Eichler der Zweite
    Bujinkan Keiko Dojo
    Owner www.korisuya.com Ninjutsu tools

Likes (received)