Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Different training approaches of the X-Kans

Likes (received)

Default Different training approaches of the X-Kans

I would like to know what fellow E-Budo members think the primary differences in teaching philosophy are in how the Bujinkan/Genbukan/Jinnenkan/To-Shin-Do choose to transmit there knowledge to the student. From my perspective and experience it seem that To-Shin-Do seeks to empower the student by emphasizing immediate practical application of taijutsu. Genbukan seems to favor strict adherence to precise kata and waza. Jinnenkan, I have no experience in, so I'll be depending on others insights. Bujinkan is hard to define because there seems to not be much of a standard unification of how it is taught, but I would have to say that it primarily emphasizes Nagare and creative adaptation in general, but once again, because the Bujinkan is less structured,"in my view", it is likely that you will find Instructors that focus mainly on Strict Waza and Kata, and you may find another Bujinkan instructor that emphasizes practical application. Now, these general views by no means represent the "whole" of any of these schools, but are what I see as the most apparent approaches, unique to them. I would like the opinions and views of others concerning this topic. Thank you.

Keep Going
    Chris Scarbrough
    Chris Scarbrough

Likes (received)

Default Ground covered before...

http://www.e-budo.com/forum/showthre...ght=difference

http://www.e-budo.com/forum/showthre...inkan+genbukan

http://www.e-budo.com/forum/showthre...light=jinenkan

The wonders of the "search" option. However, I did find that there were not that many threads regarding comparisons with Jinenkan. Some Bujinkan/Genbukan threads did, eventually, compare all three and even To-Shindo, but, you'd have to read through them. Hope this helps.

Likes (received)

Quote Originally Posted by Juan Perez
    http://www.e-budo.com/forum/showthre...ght=difference