Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: "Is Sumo a Martial Art?"

Likes (received)

Question "Is Sumo a Martial Art?"

For some time now, I have had the oddest experience when I tell people I am an avid sumo fan. Granted, few Americans are exposed enough to Grand Sumo to know anything about it. I usually get a response like, "Why would you like sumo wrestling?" I say, "Because I am a long-time student of martial arts and find it fascinating." My answer is invariably followed by the next question, "Really? Is Sumo a martial art?"

So, how do other "martial artists" feel about this question? Are judo and kendo martial arts? Aren't all three really martial sports? By using the term "martial art", maybe first, we need to qualify it's definition? To me, a "martial art" is a time-honored, organized system of traditional fighting techniques. Primarily, a true martial art must teach winning methods of combat (with and without weapons). What makes it an "art" is, to myself, is it's ability to create an atmosphere of inspiration, allowing for personal growth and providing a defined path to follow.
    Martial sports have sprouted from martial arts, just as martial arts sprouted from actual warfare methodologies. So, perhaps we could say that; #1. Authentic combat technologies have been passed-down and branched-out over the centuries to influence a multitude of martial lineages. #2. These lineages have adapted to each era they exist in , which may provide for adaptions and modifications. Thus, war-time combat begets martial technologies, which begets martial arts, which begets martial sports. By this definition, sumo, kendo and judo are, most definitely, martial arts. Sumo, as a matter of undeniable fact, is the oldest and most traditional of them all. That's my 2 cents worth. And Yours?

Be well and practice often, Jon Palombi

Likes (received)

I want to drop a post on this to keep it at the top until I can say more.