Likes Likes:  0

Thread: What to do when young students throw tantrum?

Likes (received)

Default What to do when young students throw tantrum?

I am an assistant instructor. Last wensday my master called me to ask to teach 3 class, because he had to go to Tokyo for something undisclosed.
    My last 2 classes were great, my first class was a disaster.

It was a sparring class for 12-14 year olds. I never taught them before. Besides not listening to my corrections, most had very slappy techniques. I am guessin my master called everyone and told them that he would be out, but the class will still run because only 4 kids showed up. Usually there are over 20 students.
    I decided to work on their techniques and give them individual attention. When I announced that one student asked when will we sparr. I told him that we won't sparr today. (Also with one girl, one tall boy, and two twins this was not going to be a good pair up situation.)
    Anyhow when I announced, the boy stumped his feet and said they only reason he came in is to "Kick some ass"
    I avoided the comment as I was not sure how to respond.
    To make matters worst he refused to work on his punches, instead repeating loudly "I want to sparr, I want to sparr"
    This was my test of control by the way, I came close to placing my fist through his head.

Other kids did their best to do what they had to do. Finally the kid stopped yelling and sat down on the floor and kept sitting there.

After class I was going to talk to him, but having no real authority I did not.

So that's true respect for you.

Likes (received)

Sorry if i sound bold but within the Dojo YOU have authority.

Look up every dojo etiquette there are a few rules you will ALLWAYS find.
    Respect the dojo. Respect the sensei, sempei, shi, shihan, son shihan or Soke.

The kid clearly showed no respect and has a very wrong view on martial arts.