Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Working out to much?

Likes (received)

Default Working out to much?

As a teenage I studied Karate and trained 7 days a week and because I was a teenager I think I could do anything to my body and it would adapt.
    Now I am 38 years old and starting to study karate again. I'm in decent shape. But I notice a lot of times I go to the Dojo and I am very stiff and don't have a good session because of it.
    I am trying to train Karate 5 days a week. On top of that I lift and run.
    I don't want to quit any of it.
    My question is simple. Do I back off on my training. Or just train even if my body is stiff or fatigued.

Likes (received)

Listen to your body.
    Ricky Wood

Likes (received)

If you plan on training for a lifetime you have to train smart. Your body needs opportunities to rebound from the exercise you put it through. I have trained budo for the last 7 1/2 years doing 3 - 6 days per week. I currently have injuries to both my shoulders that is now limiting my ability to train and my ability to move.

With that said training with and through pain is part of training a martial way. Only you can know for certain when your body is to the point that you are hurting yourself.

Jeff
    Jeff Brown

Likes (received)

Sometimes the solution can be simply changing the volume, intensity and frequency of what you are curently doing. Another solution is to change your routine. I cycle my focus throughout the year. From your initial post it is difficult to determine if your issue is overtraining or simply being sore from new exercise. If its just "new exercise soreness" work through it. If its joint pain or chronic, then ease off.

Likes (received)