Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: Kenjutsu training

Likes (received)

Default Kenjutsu training

Hello

I have been training in Kenjutsu for about 6 months. I truly love it.
    One thing that has been bothering me is the lack of randori.

I certainly do not underestimate the importance of two person kata. They are an excellent way to train your body to react. I am not suggesting that beginners spar. But certainly, after a kenshi has attained a relatively high level of skill, wouldn't randori, if carefully controlled and kept reality be beneficial?

My school does not say so. Its really been nagging at me.

How can you truly learn if you do not spar?

Likes (received)
    Blog Entries

Aloha, Paul, & welcome to the forum.

When you say kenjutsu, are you speaking specifically of kendo, or are you asking about iaido, too (or instead). If iaido, which ryuha?

I am not kendoka, but my wife has been studying kendo for many years, & she calls the one-on-one competition "keiko" or "ji-geiko." That isn't a formal match, though, but just daily practice. This corresponds with the two-person randori that I teach in judo, by the way.

In iaido (specifically Muso Jikiden Eishin-ryu in my case), there is no such a term, as we all practice against virtual opponents.

Maybe if you clarify your question, Paul, one of our other illustrious members can explain better.
    Ken Goldstein
    --------------------------------
    Judo Kodansha/MJER Iaido Kodansha/Jodo Oku-iri
    Fencing Master/NRA Instructor

"A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it'll annoy enough people to be worth the effort."

Likes (received)

Thanks you for the response. Perhaps i am confused.

I was taught the following definition:

Iaido- Quickly drawing, cutting, and resheathing

Kendo- A modern sport almost entirely composed of "sword-like" sparring.

Kenjutsu- a classical art which teaches swords from a live-blade perspective.