Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Munbukagakusho Scholarship

Likes (received)

Post Munbukagakusho Scholarship

Hi all,

This is a kind of re-posting of a question I've asked posted on Kendo World, but it was suggested that you may be a bit more learned on this side of the fence....

I'm looking at the possibility of applying for a Monbukagakusho (formerly Munbusho) Research Scholarship to do some post-graduate study in a Japanese university (and conveniently be able to train in Iaido & Kendo on the side).

It looks like exchange with my current university is not going to work because I need to be studying full-time but I'm only a part-time student who works full-time. The upshot of this is that I would have to apply for the scholarship through the consulate, and be approved for study in Japan that way.

• Has anyone here been the recipient of such a scholarship?
    • Has anyone done post-graduate work in a Japanese institution?

I'm currently doing 'Japanese Studies', but I would guess no such equivalent department exists in Japanese universities (they just call it 'studies' ). I have a degree in linguistics, but I'm more interested in studying Japanese Culture and History, so that puts me a bit more in the scope of the scholarship I would hope.

The Research Scholarship includes 6 months of Japanese language studies, and currently my level would be somewhere between 3-kyu and 2-kyu, do you think this would be a great hinderance to my application? With over a year until the scholarship would begin, that gives me plenty of upgrading my skills.

Any assistance, information, or comments would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks a lot,
    andrew blaker.

Likes (received)

Quote Originally Posted by filter View Post