Likes Likes:  0

Thread: General Moaning

Likes (received)

Default General Moaning

I just got back into Bujinkan training this last week after a hiatus of several years and have discovered 2 things:

• Taijutsu is a perishable skill
    • I'm just as sore this time as the first time

My taijutsu has gone down the toilet while I've been away, more's the pity. Turns out that where I'm studying, there are two high intensity classes and one low intensity 'basics' class per week. I did all right after the low intensity class, but the two high intensity classes left me barely able to *move* the following day, especially the Saturday class. I'm certainly glad for the two days of recovery after the Saturday class - *sheesh*.

I've got deep purple and green bruises on nearly every part of my anatomy, a possibly broken toe, and I'm just now, two days after my last class, regaining the full range of motion in my left thumb, which is a lurid purple, extending down into my wrist. I think I may have been lightly concussed on that day as well - when I got home I kept dropping things and when I decided on a nap ended up sleeping for about six hours before my wife reluctantly woke me up to see if I was hungry.

I recall this feeling well - from my very first time training Bujinkan. It lasted through about the first two months, after which I kind of fell into the swing of it and didn't wake up *quite* so sore on mornings following training, and didn't have *quite* the colorful panorama of bruises.

*grin*

It's good to be back.
    Carl Hamlin
    -----------------------------------------
    'The etiquette that underlies all martial arts is based on the assumption that the person with whom you are dealing is standing before you wearing three feet of razor sharp steel.' - George Ledyard

Likes (received)