Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Question on katana dents

Likes (received)
    Blog Entries

Question Question on katana dents

I have a zinc-beryllium iaito that I had made in Tokyo about 10 years ago that gets swung for 5-6 hours each week in MJER & Shinto-Ryu. On the left side of the mune (while holding the katana), there are hundreds of tiny dents going the entire length of the blade. There are no dents at all on the right side of the mune. I'm right-handed, my saya is made of the usual ho wood, & there is nothing but wood at the koiguchi. I don't really notice the dents when doing noto, but am starting to wonder if they might cause eventual blade failure.

I've been a professional engineer for 40+ years, & have worked with metals for most of that time, but I'm absolutely stumped. One other student in our dojo has a few dents on his mune, but nothing like mine.

Any ideas???
    Ken Goldstein
    --------------------------------
    Judo Kodansha/MJER Iaido Kodansha/Jodo Oku-iri
    Fencing Master/NRA Instructor

"A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it'll annoy enough people to be worth the effort."

Likes (received)

Hey Ken,
    Could it be flaws in the copper or chrome plating? As long as the plating is not actually flaking off, it should be fine as long as it doesn't bother your practice.
    Paul Smith
    "Always keep the sharp side and the pointy end between you and your opponent"

Likes (received)
    Blog Entries

Paul, as far as I can tell, there isn't any difference in the plating in & around the dents. I know there's some question on whether zinc-beryllium blades are plated at all, but in any case, the dents are far deeper (1/16 inches) than could be accounted for by plating problems. And of course with dents only on one side of the mune, plating problems wouldn't make much sense....