Likes Likes:  4
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Origin of suigetsu

Likes (received)

Default Origin of suigetsu

Hello all.

This is my first post and thread. Please excuse all rookie mistakes. My name is Stan and I'm currently studying Aikido.

I've got a question about the etymology of "suigetsu" 水月 (as in the target on the human body, i.e. solar plexus). I've read multiple articles on the poem associated with Muso Gonnosuke and suigetsu, but none have quenched my thirst.

My question is: why is suigetsu - 水月 - water, moon - connected with the solar plexus? Why that specific target? I've looked into Chinese medicine and acupuncture points, Indian medicine and chakras - no luck. Even the term "solar plexus" isn't medically correct. But, I digress.

I'm looking forward to all input. Especially those currently living in Japan with budo experience.

Please excuse my ignorance of the Japanese language.

S. Mauro

Likes (received)

Quote Originally Posted by stanm View Post
    My question is: why is suigetsu - 水月 - water, moon - connected with the solar plexus?
    There's probably no definitive answer to this, but most likely it's something of a pun. The solar plexus in everyday Japanese is the "mizuochi" (鳩尾 also pronounced "mizoochi"), which is a homonym for an unrelated word (水落) that means a place where water drops. "Suigetsu" is probably a play on the "mizu" part of the term. Martial art jargon very commonly picks up Buddhist and Daoist vocabulary and uses highfalutin terms or phrases (which originally designated philosophical or religious concepts) to describe fairly mundane things. This worked as a kind of code, to obscure what was being talked about (so that only the initiated could understand it).
    Karl Friday
    Dept. of History
    University of Georgia
    Athens, GA 30602

3. Likes mkrueger liked this post
    Likes (received)