Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Thread: Free practice in koryu: is it possible?

Likes (received)

Default Free practice in koryu: is it possible?

Dear fellows,
    since several days I'm wondering about the free sparring practice in koryu. is real possible that in many koryus there was no free practice? Are the kata enough to prepare the warriors to real battles and duels? I'd like the answer is no and I think that a minor amount had to be dedicated to free sparring. I'm not an expert so I'd like to know your opinion

Likes (received)

Luca,
    I don't think that anyone has stated that it wasn't done...Randori is still used in many koryu (at least Jujutsu schools, Kenjutsu I'm sure wouldn't disregard the practice if it helped) and as far as I know was always practiced...Wrestling (especially after class) is a good way to test some of what is covered in class, and it's a nice way to learn other tricks too.. Other schools use heavy bogu and padded weaponry in the same kind of practice, and it's far from being unused in Koryu..
    May I ask what gave you the impression that it wasn't?
    Ben Sharples.
    智は知恵、仁は思いやり、勇は勇気と説いています。

Likes (received)
    Blog Entries

In our dojo, we add kendo kata to our MJER waza, as well as tachi uchi no kurai. I think both of those certainly help our tekki visualization, although neither are, of course, randori.

Kendoka, on the other hand, have free-sparring, but don't use a sword (before I get jumped on, a shinai simply isn't used the same way as a katana - just consider the very limited target areas).
    Ken Goldstein
    --------------------------------
    Judo Kodansha/MJER Iaido Kodansha/Jodo Oku-iri
    Fencing Master/NRA Instructor

"A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it'll annoy enough people to be worth the effort."

Likes (received)

Ken,
    Interesting point...