Likes Likes:  0

Thread: TNT JuJitsu In Houston

Likes (received)

Default TNT JuJitsu In Houston

Is anyone familiar with this dojo?

http://www.tntjujitsu.com/

It has been many years since I studied with a genuine Classical Japanese Ju Jutsu school and I am looking to restart my training along with my children. I don't want to make the mistake of joining a school that is only pretending to be teaching a traditional ryu.

Thanks in advance.

Roger Samsel
    Roger Samsel

Likes (received)

Hello Roger,
    I am not personally familiar with that dojo or their instructor. However, judging from the information available on their web site, it appears that they teach their instuctor's take on what traditional jujutsu should be. They do not list any Japanese koryu affiliation. The only affiliation they list is the USJJF, and anyone that desires can register with them.
    Their art may be very effective, and they may teach in a traditional manner. They aren't a koryu school though, if that's what you're looking for. My advice would be to go and visit their school, and see if you like it. As an old Japanese instructor once told me, the hardest part of learning any classical art is going to the dojo regularly. So, find a dojo that really appeals to you, and half the battle is already done!
    Paul Smith
    "Always keep the sharp side and the pointy end between you and your opponent"

Likes (received)

Paul,