Likes Likes:  0

Thread: understanding aikido

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Likes (received)

Default understanding aikido

Hello,

i am new at e-budo, i practice aikido and i came here because it brings together people from japanese martials arts and culture community, and i am very interested in this community's particular insight.

i have created this thread because i would like to know your point of vue regarding something in practice.

My Teacher is a student of Endo Sensei, and i couldnt understand his style, his perception nor his goal from what he shows us. i feel it might be my narrow mindedness.

i praticed Aikido in morocco, aikikai and Daito ryu, and i had never seen nor felt the difference in both of them, since i thought all aikidos were different depending on practicioners, their viewpoints and experience, and the general message of execution and goal is efficiency and discipline, i think in simple martial tems.

my sensei sees it in a different light, and thus i would love to know what is endo sensei's message through his technic and since i am still learning aikido, i would love to know wether there are many different views of it, the same way for example Steven seagal's practice is somewhat completely opposite to yamaguch sensei's for example, unless i do not see the similarities.

I thank you all for your answers in advance, and hopefully might be able to ask your opinions about other martial matters soon.

Anas Challigui

Likes (received)

Hello Anas,
    We also practice Aikikai style of Endo Shihan, through his students Frank Noel Shihan and Christian Borie, Sensei, I like his style very much, it is about connecting with uke, do the techniques together, it is a beautiful aikido. I think it takes a few years to understand it. If you have the patience, in a few you will enjoy, as I do.

Likes (received)

Likes (received)

Default understanding aikido