Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Butokusai in Kyoto on April 29 - Advice

Likes (received)

Default Butokusai in Kyoto on April 29 - Advice

My apologies if this is the wrong place for this post.

Several members of my dojo will be journeying to Kyoto for the annual Butokusai held there. I will be tagging along to observe things. I started iaido about 2 months ago and just learned Seitei Ipponme. I have never been to an embu or anything of the sort, and was wondering what kinds of things I should look for or pay extra attention to. If you have any advice to help me learn as much as possible from this experience it would be greatly appreciated.

Have a good one!
    Daniel Broderick

Likes (received)
    Blog Entries

Wow, Daniel - what an opportunity! Although you have only started learning Ipponmae, it is by far the most important waza you will learn, & is the basis for almost everything else in iaido. I'm still learning all of its secrets after more than 25 years of training. What to watch? My suggestion is to pick one of the senior iaidoka & watch him/her to see as much of the performance as possible. You should easily be able to pick up on how his attention becomes focused before each waza, how all movements are synchronized & smoothly performed, how the blade is drawn, the trajectory of the sword in nukitsuke/furikaburi/kirioroshi, & how noto is performed. Then try to visualize yourself doing the same things.

Go & enjoy!

Ken
    Ken Goldstein
    --------------------------------
    Judo Kodansha/MJER Iaido Kodansha/Jodo Oku-iri
    Fencing Master/NRA Instructor

"A positive attitude may not solve all your problems, but it'll annoy enough people to be worth the effort."

Likes (received)

Ken,

Thank you for your response and your advice. I will do my best to follow it!