Likes Likes:  1

Thread: Unsharpened Baltimore Knife and Sword Katana for Iaido use?

Likes (received)

Smile Unsharpened Baltimore Knife and Sword Katana for Iaido use?

Hi all!

I'm just getting started with Kendo and Iaido, and I'm looking around for an Iaito that won't annihilate my wallet. My main concern is safety / quality, so I'll spend more if need be, but I have my eye on a Katana made by Baltimore Knife and Sword, which is the company that hosts the "Man at Arms: Reforged" series. They make a wide range of sword styles, but they don't seem to do too many Japanese swords. However, http://imakeswords.com/katanas.htm <- this Katana, and I'm referring to the one at the very bottom of the page, looks rather nice. I can't seem to find a review of them anywhere, but I figured someone here might have some experience with their Katanas. I'd be wanting to order an unsharpened Katana from them to use as an Iaito. Considering that their other swords are well known for their quality, would this be worth trying?

Thanks!
    -Ben

Likes (received)

Quote Originally Posted by BenL View Post
    Hi all!

I'm just getting started with Kendo and Iaido, and I'm looking around for an Iaito that won't annihilate my wallet. My main concern is safety / quality, so I'll spend more if need be, but I have my eye on a Katana made by Baltimore Knife and Sword, which is the company that hosts the "Man at Arms: Reforged" series. They make a wide range of sword styles, but they don't seem to do too many Japanese swords. However, http://imakeswords.com/katanas.htm <- this Katana, and I'm referring to the one at the very bottom of the page, looks rather nice. I can't seem to find a review of them anywhere, but I figured someone here might have some experience with their Katanas. I'd be wanting to order an unsharpened Katana from them to use as an Iaito. Considering that their other swords are well known for their quality, would this be worth trying?

Thanks!
    -Ben