Likes Likes:  0

Thread: where to start

Likes (received)

Default where to start

HI all, hopefully someone can point me in the right direction.

I currently study Shotokan and Judo and hopefully in the next few weeks i'll be able to add Iaido. One day i'd like to make a pilgrimage to japan and train - before then I would really like to be able to speak the language, at least able to hold a basic conversation.

I've seen hundreds of books, guides, websites etc but i really don't know what's best for a complete novice. Is rosetta stone any good? I do need structure to lessons. I looked at japanesepod but it didn't really follow a lesson plan, which I certainly need.

any help would be fantastic

Likes (received)

Hello,

I appreciate the difficulties. When I came here, I had no Japanese except a vague sense of what certain terms used in the art I practice meant. (I later discovered that these terms were highly artificial and that some native Japanese did not know what they meant.) I took an intensive course in spoken Japanese, designed to cover the basic grammatical structure of the language and introduce students to the sound structure of Japanese. Since I was hearing Japanese all the time, this introduction was very useful. I then found two teachers. One was a colleague who taught me how to read the kana syllabaries and Chinese characters and the other was a student who focused on the spoken language. He provided a strictly monitored environment in which I could learn to speak the language. Living in the country gave me a major advantage: that I was hearing the spoken language all the time and thus constantly interacting with living language models.

A couple of my colleagues here are trying to learn Latin. One advantage is that there are two of them, which is much preferable to being a sole learner.

Best wishes,
    Peter Goldsbury,
    Forum Administrator,
    Hiroshima, Japan

Likes (received)