Likes Likes:  0

Thread: When and how to buy a Bogu?

Likes (received)

Default When and how to buy a Bogu?

Hello,

I have just started kendo, But I am already researching what I should be doing when the time comes to purchase my own Bogu set. I was browsing but I felt kinda lost. Is there a particular strategy to purchasing these items? I know as a beginner I should go with something simple. It might even be too early to consider this, since I'm so green. I was just curious, if there any pointers the members here could give me?

Likes (received)

You will be told when by your teacher. When you move to Bogu can vary by dojo.

There is some fine Kendo dojo in Portland. I'm sure there is a lot of experience kendoka to advise you.

A lot of my friends had good luck getting stuff from e-Bogu. I would get some odds and ends from Tozando. I got most of supplies from Lisa. I don't remember the name of Lisa's web business. (I've been out of Kendo for years) Lisa was great. She was knowledgeable, carried great stuff and was always at the annual Midwest Taikai and you could physically inspect the inventory at Taikai and check it for fit. I bet the Northwest Taikai also has vendors on site.

Enjoy your time out of bogu. You can get your kihon looking really good then when you get in Bogu it becomes like starting over again...... Everything feels like it changes.
    Ed Boyd

Likes (received)

Do you wear glasses? I do. I'm blind as a bat without them. My glasses fit inside my men. Some don't. Glasses are a pain. If you have to wear them this is something you will need to take into account.
    Ed Boyd

Likes (received)

Quote Originally Posted by CEB View Post
    Do you wear glasses? I do. I'm blind as a bat without them. My glasses fit inside my men. Some don't. Glasses are a pain. If you have to wear them this is something you will need to take into account.
    Okay, I will be patient.