This thread rekindles the discussion of classical jujutsu intersecting with modern combatives - something that has been my focus for many years.

At the risk of boring the old E-Budo hands reciting my resume, for newer readers (I hope…) my background is this: 25 years LE, almost 18 of which were on a tactical team. I left “the road” at the beginning of this year for a full time training position, in which I primarily teach patrol tactics - that is, addressing various elements of clearing buildings, stopping vehicles, high risk contacts, and de-escalating violent individuals, use of force applications, control tactics and officer survival subjects. I also lead a police grappling group in support of the control tactics curriculum. I have a shodan in Judo, a black belt in BJJ, and have studied koryu, mostly as a student of Ellis Amdur in his line of Araki-ryu. I have extensive training in modern police tactical applications with “coach” certification in Arrestling, and am one of only a few people Craig Douglas of Shivworks has certified in Extreme Close Quarters Concepts (ECQC). I have some direct personal experience with violence, including lethal threat situations.

In any discussion of this sort I think we need to be clear about the context being referenced; there is a big difference between “martial arts” for personal development, for personal protection, policing, and military application. Most schools blend these, or confuse them, in keeping with the fact that most martial training has largely been unmoored from “combat application” regardless of the “battlefield provenance” ascribed to the tradition by the tradition itself.

I look at a few things when evaluating the combative application of any martial method, in particular traditional/classical disciplines:

Is it independent of archaic weapons (sword, spear, etc. do offer lessons but they are not currently routinely carried/used weaponry)