Likes Likes:  0

Thread: whats language course works........

Peter Adams Guest

Smile

Id like to poll a recommendation of language courses - ie.
    whats worth splashing the dosh on?

Japanese for Busy People seems quite comprehensive...

I intend to use it to supplement direct guidance from a native speaker.

( objective is to be fluent - read/write/oral )
    have the rest of my life to polish it up...hopefully.

regards

Adam DArcy Guest

I think if you focus on the basics, and use the "Memorize-everything-you-can-get-your-hands-on-then-speak-as-much-as-you-can-with-a-native-Japanese-speaker" technique, you can get pretty fluent.

I studied formally at a university and then went to Japan and studied at another university. However, in retrospect, it seems like most of what I was doing was memorizing vocabulary, Kanji, idiomatic expressions, grammar patterns and so on, and then going to class to use them on the native Japanese instructors. Now I memorize things, and try them out on my wife . Just vocabulary, not waza

Anyway, if you keep it simple, I think you'll see the best results.

Adam

Alex Miller Guest

Exclamation

Peter - there is, as I am sure you know, an extraordinary variety of Japanese langauge textbooks. Adam's right about simply putting a lot of time and effort into it - there are no real shortcuts. However, it's always useful to know whether you want to have a very solid grammatical understanding, or are happy with just being understood in a daily conversational context.

For what it's worth, I would recommend a book published by the Japan Times called "An Introduction to Modern Japanese", written by Makino (I think). It brings in formal and informal Japanese in very systematic way (you'll notice a marked improvement) and really is helpful for just sitting down at your desk and getting on with it. As with all these things, though, it depends on the person!

Best of luck!

Alex

Likes (received)