Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Goju Ryu / Aikido Connection

Yamantaka Guest

Question Goju Ryu / Aikido Connection

Hello, all!

Recently, I found this question in another list :

"Subject: Takeda connection to Goju Ryu?
    >
    >An Aikido instructor, who also teaches Goju Ryu, said in class once that
    >just about every technique in Aikido can be found in Goju Ryu kata.
    >I was just read an entry on a web site that said Sokaku Takeda, Sensei to
    >Aikido founder Ueshiba, traveled to Okinawa in the 1870's to study Okinawa
    >Te. It does not say who he studied with.
    >I would like to know if anyone knows of any connection between Kanryo
    >Higaonna and Takeda, or has any other information on the Aikido/Goju
    >connections."

Does anyone knows anything about that?
    Best

Likes (received)

I can't answer this question but I studied Goju for years before studing Aikido and found some similarities. My Goju teacher sent all his students, Nidan and above, to study Aikido. You may want to pose this question to Stanly Pranin at Aikido Journal, he is porbably one of the foremost scholars of Daito ryu history in the US. I would be very intereseted to here his comments on your question.
    Derrick I. Wallace
    Head & Neck Surgeon
    Muso Shinden Ryu Iaido

Likes (received)

Hello,

Although I know 'I believe'-s, 'in my perception'-s etcetera are not what you are looking for, at this moment I can't give you historical data answering your question. I agree that Stan Pranin probably would be the best source at this time. I have heard several remarks made about the relationship between Ueshiba en Chinese martial arts.