Likes Likes:  0

Thread: BOOK: The Okinawa Program

Likes (received)

Default BOOK: The Okinawa Program

I was recently introduced to this text. It is the culmination of 25 years of research into the lifestyle (dietary, spiritual, physical activity) which makes the Okinawan people the longest-lived and most-active-late-in-life people in the world.

I've just begun reading it. Has anyone else here read it? If so, would you care to share your thoughts? I'll post a review once I have completed it.

Regards,
    Doug Daulton

Likes (received)

Default The okinawan program

hi There,

Im a little new to e budo, so wanted to introduce myself, Im Jim neeter in UK. good to meet you all !

Yep I am on my third reading of the book, it is superb and has given me reason to make some changes in my life -

1. start drinking green T regulary
    2. look at my diet in more depth, natural unrefined foods being good
    3. include 'spirirtuality' into my life, a little meditation every day

Thats the obvious stuff i can think off. Its a fasinating book IMO and worth every penny. Whats nice about it is that it is detailed but not overly scientific/analytical - an easy read.

My martial arts has a 'wellness' part and these simple changes in my life help with 'life protection', its all karate!
    Rgds,

Jim Neeter
    Shorin Ryu Seito Matsumura Karate and Kobudo UK
    www.shoshinkanuk.org

Likes (received)

It has been discussed by some of my dojo mates, and good things were said about it. I actually had a discussion about the eating habits and naps with Hanshi.
    Respectfully
    Mark W. Swarthout, Shodan

Likes (received)

The book I have is 'the okinawan Way', essentially the same thing i think as it includes the program research results.

Its superb IMO and really sums up the okinawna view on life, considering i havent visited I feel that with this book and discussions with my instructors that have then im getting the next best thing to spending extended time on the islands.