Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Sword question?

PghBudo Guest

Default Sword question?

I was wondering if anyone can tell me if there is a sword school out there that wears the daisho with the katana across the belly and the wakizashi where the katana is usually worn?

Likes (received)

Cool Reasons....

Hello.
    I am not too sure of this point but to me it would be unwise to carry the Daisho in the way you ask about because like that the Katana would be far more difficult to keep awareness of position..Saya-ate would not be difficult to cause carrying the swords like this..Having the Katana in line with your direction is difficult enough on Zanshin..Let alone creating those problems for yourself..
    As for Iai from that position...Hmmm.. I am no expert but my arms are not built that way! Again it would create a serious difficulty when there did not need to be one!
    That said it would amaze me if any Ryu-ha used the Daisho in that way..And if they can pass us any MPEG's of the waza!
    Abayo..
    (P.S. Sorry bout the sarcasm here..Not meant to offend)
    Ben Sharples.
    智は知恵、仁は思いやり、勇は勇気と説いています。

Likes (received)

Exclamation "Across the Belly" wa zettai ni DAME desuyoo!

Some teachers incorrectly allow the sword to "cross over the belly" when worn. I've seen it with both Japanese teachers and American teachers, and it is not encountered commonly, as most teachers are aware of the proper orientation of the sword during "taito" [belted]. Some adherents state the "over belly" orientation makes wearing the sword easier when seated in seiza. This reasoning is not historically accurate simply because the sword was not worn while in seiza.