Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Koshiki no kata

Ted Bouck Guest

Default Koshiki no kata

Greetings Listka,

I am fairly new to Judo / jujutsu, but have been doing sword related stuff for a bunch of years. Much of that in WMA's armour. I am quite interested in the old style kumiuchi that is commented upon in Kodokan Judo.

I have the book on the way [should have bought it at least two years ago], and was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on this kata? Be it explanation, history, advice, or other books - sites in which I could further my study of kumiuchi, and this kata?!!

Thanks for the help!

Ted Bouck

Likes (received)

Hi Ted!

Koshiki no Kata is said to be the central kata of Kito-ryu. Kano took it, change a few of the techniques, and preserved it in his Kodokan Judo.

The things that are changed in the Kata is mostly minor changes how uke attacks (except for one technique, Yudachi, where tori doesn't throw uke).

The techniques that he changed from Kito-ryu are:

- Yume no Uchi (uke run across in front of tori and tries to drag him with him and throw him...Tori's action is the same)
    - Ryokuhi (uke does not have his arms crossed, but tries to push tori backward...at least it looks like it...Tori's action is the same)
    - Mizu-guruma (uke does not have his arms crossed, but tries to push tori backward...at least it looks like it...Tori's action is the same)
    - Hikiotoshi (tori and uke take hold of each other, and tori performs an uki-otoshi simular to Nage no Kata)
    - Yudachi (uke's attack is the same, but Tori applys a control technique instead)
    - Ko-daore (Instead of just walking with the arm pointing towards uke's nose, tori tries to strike ukes right temple with the knife-edge of his right hand...The rest is the same though)
    - Tani-otoshi (uke performs a funny "dance-step", in lack of better words, before he performs the attack. The attack and defence of uke and tori is still the same though)

On my home page at URL: