Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: what's required to be a GM in martial arts?

Likes (received)

Default what's required to be a GM in martial arts?

Hello everybody.I am new here,coming back to martial arts after a long time(I quit cos of health).1st of all,Happy New Year to everybody.
    I am not an expert so,plz,bear with me,as the question may be trivial.
    I was wondering what's required to get the GM title in martial arts and if all of martial arts award this title,if not,which ones do.Being a chess player where they also have a GM title,I am curious.Thanks for helping.Good site!

Lee Marsh Guest

Well, buy yourself a black gi with a lot of patches and some red or gold trim, a fancy belt with lots of red stripes on it, some of those little kung fu shoes, develop a beer gut or a food belly that flops over your belt, grow a goatee, claim a lot of rank and titles...it doesn't matter what they are, just make them up, and open a BS website with funky music, dragons, and a lot of stuff about ninja and secrets. Hell, you'll be a Grand Master in no time. Oh, and post some pictures of yourself in strange looking stances or holding weapons incorrectly. A gold chain or two around your neck also helps.

Likes (received)

I'll make you one for only 19.95 USD plus shipping.
    David F. Craik

Likes (received)

Originally posted by Soulend
    I'll make you one for only 19.95 USD plus shipping.
    ahh thats too much $10 on ebay

Likes (received)

My certificates are way cooler, and I guarantee a squad of Astral Spies who will be at your command.
    David F. Craik

Likes (received)

Haha.my Q was serious anyway
    Did I understand well?Does it take a red belt in kung-fu(wu shu)?
    Massimo Viti

Likes (received)

Sorry to be having a bit of fun. None of the arts I've studied had such a thing as a grandmaster (or at least no one used or was called that title that I know of), so I dunno.

Welcome to the forum though, Mr. Viti!
    David F. Craik